Where the Horses Run (The Heroes of Heartbreak Creek #2) (Mass Market)

Where the Horses Run (The Heroes of Heartbreak Creek #2) Cover Image
$7.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Other Books in Series

This is book number 2 in the The Heroes of Heartbreak Creek series.

Description


"Compelling, radiantly written" --Library Journal   
A lawman turned wrangler and a desperate Englishwoman risk everything for a wounded horse--and for each other.  For fans of Linda Lael Miller, Jodi Thomas, and Catherine Anderson.
Wounded in body and spirit after a shootout, Rayford Jessup leaves his career as a lawman and uses his gift with damaged horses to bring meaning to his solitary life. Hired by a Scotsman in Heartbreak Creek to purchase thoroughbreds, he travels to England, unaware that a traumatized horse and a beautiful Englishwoman will change his life forever.

Josephine Cathcart loves two things: her illegitimate son and her injured stallion. Faced with her father’s looming bankruptcy, she must choose between a loveless marriage to the man who ruined her, or risk her horse and her future on a handsome, taciturn Texan and a high-stakes horse race. But as vengeful forces conspire against them, will Rafe’s love and healing touch be enough to save her horse and protect her and her son?

 

About the Author


Kaki Warner is a RITA-winning author and longtime resident of the Pacific Northwest. Although she now lives on the eastern slopes of the Cascade Mountains in Washington, Kaki grew up in the Southwest and is a proud graduate of the University of Texas. She spends her time gardening, reading, writing, and making lists of stuff for her husband to do while she soaks in the view from the deck of her hilltop cabin.

She is the author of Behind His Blue Eyes, Miracle in New Hope, Bride of the High Country, Colorado Dawn, Heartbreak Creek, Chasing the Sun, Open Country, and Pieces of Sky

Praise For…


Praise for Where the Horses Run:
"Lawman-turned-wrangler Rafe Jessup can’t help trying to save things, whether it’s people or horses. He ends up in England choosing thoroughbreds for Ash Wallace’s Heartbreak Creek horse ranch and finds a badly injured horse and a woman who desperately needs someone on her side, so he does what comes naturally. He knows he can help Pembroke’s Pride, but saving lovely Josephine Cathcart, Pems’ owner and the single mother of an illegitimate son, is another matter entirely—unless they are willing to risk everything on a race that Pems might not win. ­VERDICT A resilient, poorly used heroine and a rugged, caring hero overcome almost insurmountable odds to find safety and happiness in a compelling, radiantly written romance that boasts a rich assortment of unusual, appealing secondary characters and is laced with wry humor and a surprisingly chilling dash of very real danger." --Library Journal

"Rich with character development...emotion suffuses the tender romance between the privileged yet resilient Englishwoman and the tough American horse trainer." --Publishers Weekly

"Warner blends a bit of The Horse Whisperer into a passionate tale of an emotionally wounded woman and the ex-lawman turned wrangler who frees her soul to love again.  This beautifully rendered love story is tough and tender--just what Warner's fans have come to expect from this gifted storyteller." --RT Book Reviews

Praise for the novels of Kaki Warner:
“I highly recommend any of [Kaki Warner’s] books.”—USA Today
“An engaging read.”—Publishers Weekly
“Flawlessly written.”—Chicago Tribune
“A truly original new voice in historical fiction.”—Jodi Thomas, New York Times bestselling author
Product Details
ISBN: 9780425263273
ISBN-10: 0425263274
Publisher: Berkley
Publication Date: July 1st, 2014
Pages: 352
Language: English
Series: The Heroes of Heartbreak Creek