Scorpica (Five Queendoms, The #1) (Hardcover)

Scorpica (Five Queendoms, The #1) Cover Image

Scorpica (Five Queendoms, The #1) (Hardcover)

$27.99


Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Other Books in Series

This is book number 1 in the Five Queendoms, The series.

A centuries-long peace is shattered in a matriarchal society when a decade passes without a single girl being born in this sweeping epic fantasy that’s perfect for fans of Robin Hobb and Circe.

Five hundred years of peace between queendoms shatters when girls inexplicably stop being born. As the Drought of Girls stretches across a generation, it sets off a cascade of political and personal consequences across all five queendoms of the known world, throwing long-standing alliances into disarray as each queendom begins to turn on each other—and new threats to each nation rise from within.

Uniting the stories of women from across the queendoms, this propulsive, gripping epic fantasy follows a warrior queen who must rise from childbirth bed to fight for her life and her throne, a healer in hiding desperate to protect the secret of her daughter’s explosive power, a queen whose desperation to retain control leads her to risk using the darkest magic, a near-immortal sorcerer demigod powerful enough to remake the world for her own ends—and the generation of lastborn girls, the ones born just before the Drought, who must bear the hopes and traditions of their nations if the queendoms are to survive.
G.R. Macallister, author of the Five Queendoms series, beginning with Scorpica, and also writes bestselling historical fiction under the name Greer Macallister. Her novels have been optioned for film and television. A regular contributor to Writer Unboxed and the Chicago Review of Books, she lives with her family in Washington, DC. 
Product Details ISBN: 9781982167899
ISBN-10: 1982167890
Publisher: Gallery / Saga Press
Publication Date: February 22nd, 2022
Pages: 448
Language: English
Series: Five Queendoms, The
"An intoxicating brew of court politics, deadly magic, family rivalry, and enough swashbuckling female swordplay to delight Wonder Woman's entire isle of Amazons. Macallister’s turn from historical fiction to historical fantasy is a gem—I can't wait for the next installment!" —Kate Quinn, New York Times bestselling author of The Alice Network

"Ambitious and engaging... A sprawling epic fantasy that spans the lives of warriors, queens and the fate of a continent."—Rebecca Roanhorse, New York Times bestselling author Black Sun